• August 15 – 21, 2021

    AILA World Congress 2021: Fully Virtual

    Groningen, Netherlands

  • 20 % Discount on All De Gruyter Publications

    New AILA App Benefit for Members

  • On Hot Topics in the Field

    AILA Review: Two Issues per Year



AILA ASEAN was launched on 3 December 2018 at the MAAL conference in Kuala Lumpur. The network aims to: promote joint activities amongst affiliates; facilitate connectivity amongst applied linguists in Southeast Asia; and foster transdisciplinary approaches to common regional challenges.

Annual AILA ASEAN symposia have been organized since 2018, expanding the SAAL-MAAL initiative that started in 2014. Each affiliate is represented by a presenter. The presentations and follow-up discussions pave avenues for further collaboration projects of AILA ASEAN.


See AILA ASEAN members

See AILA Asean meetings


Transdisciplinary Research on Multilingualism under the Challenges of the Pandemic

The Malaysian Association of Applied Linguistics (MAAL) on Managing Transdisciplinary Research on Multilingualism under the Challenges of the Pandemic on…

Read More

AILA Tandem Initiative: Growing the ASEAN Network of Applied Linguistics

The MAAL-SAAL-TAAL initiative aims to intensify networking and collaboration between the Malaysian Association of Applied Linguistics (MAAL), the Singapore Association…

Read More

Getting started: TAAL. Raising the profile of applied linguistics in Thailand

“TAAL being a member of AILA provides great opportunities for Thai applied linguistics researchers to become active participants in the…

Read More

AILA development: The most relevant benefits and urgent requests

What have AILA’s most relevant benefits been for its national affiliates in the last year, and what are the affiliates’…

Read More

Launching the AILA ASEAN Network

On 3 December 2018, the AILA ASEAN Network was launched at the Malaysian Association of Applied Linguistics International Conference 2018,…

Read More

MAALIC 2018 and the Launching of AILA ASEAN

Applied Linguistics and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Language, Communication and the Professions December 3-4, 2018 University of Malaya, Kuala…

Read More